

Irish Presidency of the Council of the European Union Parliamentary Dimension

MEETING OF CHAIRPERSONS OF COMMUNICATIONS, EDUCATION AND TRANSPORT COMMITTEES

Dublin Castle, 16-17 June 2013

DRAFT PROGRAMME

Sunday, 16 June 2013

16:00 - 18:15	Registration desk open at the Herbert Park Hotel, Ballsbridge, Dublin 4
18:30	Departure by bus from Hotel to the National Botanic Gardens, Glasnevin, Dublin 9
19:00	Welcome reception/tour of the National Botanic Gardens (optional)
20:00	Dinner co-hosted by Ms. Joanna Tuffy, T.D., Chairperson, Joint Committee on Education and Social Protection and Mr. John O'Mahony T.D., Vice-Chairman, Joint Committee on Transport and Communications
22:30	Return by bus to the Hotel

Monday, 17 June 2013

08:15	Departure	bν	bus	from	Hotel	to	Dublin	Castle

09:00 Opening address

Mr. John O'Mahony, T.D., Vice-Chairman, Joint Committee on Transport and Communications

<u>Theme of meeting</u>: Connecting Europe's Citizens and Communities in a Digital Age

09.10 **Session 1**

Topic: Rethinking Education for a Digital Age

 $\textbf{Chair:} \ \textbf{Ms. Joanna Tuffy, T.D., Chairperson, Joint Committee on Education and Social Protection}$

Address by:

- (i) Mr. Jan Truszczyński, Director General for Education, Training, Culture and Youth, European Commission (15 mins)
- (ii) Mr. Ruairí Quinn, T.D., Minister for Education and Skills (15 mins)

Debate

10.45 Family Photo/Coffee break





Irish Presidency of the Council of the European Union Parliamentary Dimension

11:15 <u>Session 2</u>

Topic: The Smart Move - Progress Towards Intelligent Transport Systems

Chair: Mr. John O'Mahony, T.D., Vice-Chairman, Joint Committee on Transport and Communications

Address by:

- (i) Mr Olivier Onidi, Director for Innovative and Sustainable Mobility (DG Move), European Commission (10 mins)
- (ii) Mr Gerry Murphy, CEO, National Transport Authority (10 mins)
- (iii) Mr Brian Brennan, Managing Director, Transdev Ireland (10 mins)

Debate

12.45 Buffet Lunch

Venue: Castle Hall, Dublin Castle

14:15 <u>Session 3</u>

Topic: The Digital Agenda Towards 2020

Chair: Mr. John O'Mahony, TD, Vice-Chairman, Joint Committee on Transport and Communications

Address by:

- (i) Mr. Robert Madelin, Director-General for Communications Networks, Content and Technology (DG Connect), European Commission (10 mins)
- (ii) Mr. Pat Rabbitte, T.D., Minister for Communications, Energy and Natural Resources (10 mins)
- (iii) Lord David Puttnam, Ireland's Digital Champion (10 mins)

Debate

Closing Address

Mr. John O'Mahony, T.D., Vice-Chairman, Joint Committee on Transport and Communications and Ms. Joanna Tuffy, T.D., Chairperson, Joint Committee on Education and Social Protection

16.00 Departure by bus from Dublin Castle to Hotel

