

ParlEU2013.ie

Uachtaránacht na hÉireann ar Chomhairle an Aontais Eorpaigh <mark>An Ghné Pharlaiminteach</mark>

Irish Presidency of the Council of the European Union Parliamentary Dimension

MEETING OF CHAIRPERSONS OF ENVIRONMENT AND ENERGY COMMITTEES

The Conference Centre, Dublin Castle, 12 - 13 May 2013

FINAL PROGRAMME

Sunday, 12 May 2013

- 16:00 18:15 Registration desk open at the Herbert Park Hotel, Ballsbridge, Dublin 4.
- 18.30 Departure by bus from the Hotel to The National Botanic Gardens, Glasnevin, Dublin 9
- 19.00 Welcome reception/tour of The National Botanic Gardens (optional)
- 20.00 Dinner co-hosted by Mr Michael McCarthy, T.D., Cathaoirleach, Joint Committee on Environment, Culture and the Gaeltacht and Mr. John O'Mahony, T.D., Vice Chairman, Joint Committee on Transport and Communications
- 22:30 Return by bus to Hotel

Monday, 13 May 2013

08:15 Departure by bus from Hotel to the **Conference Centre, Dublin Castle**

09:00 Opening address

Mr. Michael McCarthy, TD, Cathaoirleach, Joint Committee on Environment, Culture and the Gaeltacht

Theme of meeting: Clean energy for the future

09.10 <u>Session 1</u>

Topic: The sustainable production of energy within the EU

Chair: Mr. John O'Mahony, T.D., Vice Chairman, Joint Committee on Transport and Communications

Address by:

(i) Mr. Gunther Oettinger, EU Commissioner for Energy (15 mins)(ii) Mr. Pat Rabbitte, T.D., Minister for Communications, Energy and Natural Resources (15 mins)

Debate





ParlEU2013.ie

Uachtaránacht na hÉireann ar Chomhairle an Aontais Eorpaigh An Ghné Pharlaiminteach

Irish Presidency of the Council of the European Union Parliamentary Dimension

- 10.45 Family Photo/Coffee break
- 11:15 Session 2

Topic: Protecting our environment for a sustainable future

Chair: Mr. Michael McCarthy, T.D., Cathaoirleach, Joint Committee on Environment, Culture and the Gaeltacht

Address by:

(i) Ms. Laura Burke, Director General, Environmental Protection Agency (15 mins)
(ii) Ms. Astrid Schomaker, European Commission, Head of Unit D 2 - Marine Environment and Water Industry (15 mins)

Debate

12.45 Buffet Lunch

Venue: Castle Hall, Dublin Castle

14:15 Session 3

Topic: Towards our Climate Change goals

Chair: Mr. Michael McCarthy, T.D., Cathaoirleach, Joint Committee on Environment, Culture and the Gaeltacht

Address by:

(i) Ms. Connie Hedegaard, EU Commissioner for Climate Action
(10 mins)
(ii) Mr. John McCarthy, Head of Environment Division, Department of Environment, Community and Local Government (10 mins)
(iii) Dr. Brian Motherway, Chief Executive, Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland (10 mins)

Debate

15.45 Closing Address

Mr. Michael McCarthy, T.D., Cathaoirleach, Joint Committee on Environment, Culture and the Gaeltacht and Mr John O'Mahony T.D., Vice Chairman, Joint Committee on Transport and Communications

16.00 Departure by bus from Dublin Castle to Hotel

EU Coordinator: Máirín Devlin, Telephone (direct) 00353 1 6183258, mairin.devlin@oir.ie

